I Ching

Get App

Toss Coins for Line 1

coin coin coin

Changing to

This free online I Ching (Yijing) oracle is based on the 64 principles from the Book of Changes with interpretations inspired by the elements of nature. By clicking on the virtual coins 6 times a primary hexagram will be built from the bottom up.

There are four types of lines that can be generated by throwing the coins: Yang (solid) Yin (broken) old Yang (changing) and old Yin (changing.) Any changing or old lines will create a secondary hexagram which reveals both the basis of your question and the changes that are at play. Consider both hexagrams and any changing lines as an answer to your question.

If you receive a hexagram with no changing lines, read the interpretation for the Unchanging hexagram. Unchanging hexagrams are observed to be in a static condition and require careful examination in order to understand why the situation might be at an impasse or unchanging . The secondary or relating hexagram can show both the foundation of your question and the potential outcome. The lines offer advice about how to transcend any misunderstandings about the principles at work in the situation described by the primary hexagram.

For deeper insight into the meaning of a changing line, all line interpretations include the resulting hexagram that would have been generated by the line change.


Often there can be conflicting information in the interpretations when multiple lines are changing. Which line prevails when many lines are changing in the I Ching? Based on ancient methods, you can follow these guidelines to determine which line prevails:

No lines are changing: Read the unchanging interpretation for that Hexagram.
One line is changing: Read the advice of that line interpretation.
Two lines are changing:
If the lines are the same (changing broken <old yin> or changing solid <old yang>) the changing line closest to the top prevails. If there is one of each, read only the changing broken <old yin> line.
Three lines are changing: Read the middle line.
Four lines are changing: Read the upper line that is not changing.
Five lines are changing: Read the only non changing line.
Six lines are changing: Read only the transformed hexagram as the first hexagram has been exhausted.

Hexagram interpretations also include the Hu Gua or nuclear hexagram as a secondary influence and the Zong Gua or reversed hexagram which shows the opposite condition.

The Hu Gua gives added insight into the meaning of a hexagram because it shows the base motivation that is trying to manifest within the core hexagram. For example, the Hu Gua of (6) Conflict shows (7) Family as both the dynamics that can create conflict and how establishing clarity in expectations (like the Family) can solve it.

The Zong Gua of (6) Conflict would be (36) Brightness Hiding which is the opposite of what should be done in this situation. In Brightness Hiding we would have assumed nothing needed rectification and merely held to our inner light.

By examining all possible ancient and modern correlations we strive to bring you the most comprehensive free I Ching reading available online. All interpretations include quotes from the ancient masters of Chinese philosophy as well as being based on the power of nature which originally inspired the Book of Changes.

To get the most out of the I Ching oracle, approach it with an open mind and a respect for the process. I like to think of it as providing the same direction as our dreams, which require naivety and a willingness to be objective when looking back at how we create our experiences. The I Ching was originally composed by Taoist masters who were quite profound. Additionally, they were inspired by natural processes where only now we are recognizing how nature can be a teacher. Think of the answer as a koan or riddle - this is not an oracle with random messages to be rushed through. Contemplate the Hu Gua, Zong Gua, lines and changing hexagrams until you understand the message prior to asking more questions.